June Favourites

I can’t believe we are halfway through 2013 already! It seems like yesterday that I was tucking into a huge student-made roast dinner and travelling to Auckland to see the fireworks be lit off of the Sky Tower!
I’ve actually had quite a few favourites this month, mainly beauty but I’ll pop a few random favourites in at the end just to switch it up a bit.

Image

Favourite Perfume: Emporio Armani Diamonds. I am rubbish at describing scents so just go and smell it in stores. In all my expertise I would describe as smelling “lush”. Helpful I know.

Favourite Moisturiser: Algenist Multi-Perfecting Pore Corrector Gel Moisturizer (Oil-Free). This is a really lightweight moisturiser that gently resurfaces your skin leaving it softer and with an improved textured. This stuff is about £78 for a full sized jar but if you can get your hands on some samples then this is the bomb dot com.

Favourite Hair Product: This is hands down the Elvive Extraordinary Oil. A serious dupe of the Moroccan Oil that everyone raves so hard about, and about a quarter of the price. I use two drops of this in place of conditioner and it works so beautifully. You can use it before shampooing as an intensive treatment and make your shampoo less stripping, apply at the end of styling to give shine and definition, and it protects against heat up to 220 degrees so it can be used as a heat protectant too. A real hero of a product, I love this so much.

Favourite Lipbalm: 
Crabtree & Evelyn Creme de Menthe Lip Butter. Really nice texture, non sticky, thick consistency so you really feel like it’s doing something. And what I especially like about this is that it’s not a petroleum based lipbalm (like Vaseline and Carmex) so it’s actually doing your lips a lot of good in the long term, and not just providing a temporary feeling of moisture.

Favourite Treatment: Tea Tree Oil. Treats a multitude of things from spots to bites to stings to dandruff to sleep disorders… are you getting the picture yet? These little guys last for ages and the great thing is that as it’s 100% tea tree oil you can buy the cheapest one and know it’s exactly the same as one for two or three times the price. My favourite way to use this is on spots and also dark patches from spot scarring or bruising. It soothes and takes the redness down right away and tingles your skin so you feel like you’re using an expensive treatment. Just a little disclaimer that if you have super-sensitive skin you’ll need to dilute this with something like an aloe vera gel before applying it to your skin or it could irritate you.

Favourite Lipstick: MaxFactor Lipstick in 827 Bewitching Coral. This goes from neon pink to soft orange to sweet coral in different lights and I LOVE IT. It just really suits my skintone and makes me feel good for wearing such a bright shade. It’s super wearable though – blot it once and apply clear gloss and it will sit as a pretty stain all day. This only comes off completely when I use an oil based cleanser, obviously it doesn’t look freshly applied at the end of the day but I’ve worn this for 12 hours straight on one application before and it still looks like a pretty meaty stain.

Favourite Eye Product: Rimmel Scandaleyes Eyeshadow Stick in 006 Paranoid Purple. I really love the colour of this product, and also the ease of use. I can chuck this on if I’m getting ready in a hurry and still know that I look polished and put together. For brown eyes this colour is ideal because it will really make them (to coin a phrase here) “pop”. It sounds so silly but if you’ve got incredibly dark features, like me, you’ll know that sometimes everything can just look a bit brown, brown-hair-brown-eyes-brown-eyebrows and people won’t notice the flecks of green/gold/orange in your eyes, so using this colour really brings your eyes to the forefront making them appear brighter and more open. I really, really like this one.

Favourite Concealer: Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer in Light 2. There’s not much more I can say apart from – great concealer. It blends beautifully so perfect for days when you just want to cover a few flaws and get out of the house.

Favourite Tools: Spoolies and the Kevyn Aucoin Eyelash Curler. Both super handy, super easy to use and both tools that I have been reaching for everyday this month.

Random Favourites
Favourite TV Show: 
90210! It’s back for another season and better than ever. I’ve followed this show from the start and I just love it. It’s glamorous, sexy and a little far fetched sometimes but the storyline keeps you engaged and the little plot twists along the way are so clever.
Favourite Film: Despicable Me. Is this cheating because I saw it today? I hope not. I seriously, seriously love this film. It’s sweet, it’s funny, it has great actors, great animation a lovely storyline and to top it all is so quotable! “It’s so fluffy I’m gonna die!” A must watch if you haven’t seen it before!
Favourite Book: The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkein, this book is wonderful, it really feels like your being told a story by a sweet little old man who rambles a little but has an incredible vocabulary and a genius imagination. It starts off a little slowly but stick with it and you won’t regret it. A great winter read, I don’t think this is one to take on holiday because it requires a little concentration!

And that concludes my favourites for June. Please let me know if you enjoyed this post and I’ll make it a monthly thing!
Love, Bonnie xx

Leave a Reply

