Evening Skincare Routine

Ok so I don’t know about you but by mid evening I have drifted from daytime wear to absolutely atrocious bolognese-sauce-dotted tracksuit bottoms and really don’t feel like doing much. I should also mention that once this transformation takes place I’m very likely to climb into bed on the pretence of warming my feet up/cuddling my pug/having a power nap. 3 hours later and I’ll most likely still be here. My bed must feel like the awkward hostess when guests just ARE NOT leaving.
Let me let you into a little secret though: the ONE thing that will get me leaping out of bed is the thought of leaving my make-up on overnight. I’m not saying I’m the queen of taking my make-up off before I go to bed, and yes, I hold my hands up to staggering in from a night out, face planting the bed and not stirring ’til morning. But no more, sir! 
For the past couple of months I’ve been really strict with myself in taking my make-up off every night before I go to bed and I’ve developed a very compact skincare routine. Small, but effective. Like sleeping with a mosquito (except less painful).

I start off with a basin of hot/warm water and let a flannel soak in it whilst I give my face a good massage with my cult cleanser Liz Earle Cleanse and Polish Hot Cloth Cleanser. I always (always always always) double cleanse in the evening, especially if I’ve been wearing make-up, to really make sure I’m left with a clean slate to apply my skincare on top of. There’s no point rubbing in moisturiser if your face isn’t clean because it will simply break you out.

Next I apply Tea Tree Essential Oil directly to any angry spots. I used to use Freederm spot treatments but they are oh-my-gosh-so-drying and I can’t be dealing with that so Tea Tree Oil it is.
After that comes eye cream. I use the Good Things Brightening Eye Cream patted into the entire eye area (yes, right up to my eyebrows.. luuuurvely). This cream would be a good alternative to a concealer in the morning if you are going it au naturel as it masks dark circles with brightening lychee extract.
I finish the lot off with the Algenist Multi-Perfecting Pore Corrector Gel Moisturizer (Oil-free) this moisturiser is extremely expensive and I don’t think I’d pay full price for it, however since I have a full size sample I’ll use it up and be greatful for it. I gently smudge this across my cheeks and forehead and smooth the leftover product on my fingers over my nose and chin. If I can be bothered I then apply a splog to my neck but if not, heck, who cares.
Final step is to climb into bed and try not to fall asleep whilst reading my book (hey it’s harder than it looks).

So what are you waiting for? Go and clean your face you filthy minx!
Love, Bonnie xx

Leave a Reply

